11 Jun Little Known Secret for Teens Getting Their Ohio Drivers License
TLDR:at 15y 5m sign up for the 24hr Driver’s Ed and take that to prepare for the written exam that gets you your temp permit to drive rather than just study the driver’s handbook.
Teens in Ohio can learn to drive under the age of 18 with a probationary driver’s license. To oversimplify here are the steps typically taken by most people getting their license.
- Prepare for the written exam by studying the Driver’s Handbook
- Take the Written Exam
- Enroll in a 24 hr Driver Training Course
- Enroll in an 8 hr In-Car Driver Training
- Take the driving test
But if you know the licensing requirements there is a little trick that can save students a lot of time studying.
It is REQUIRED in the state that teens take a 24 hour driver’s ed course. The state made a little accommodation for this in their laws in that at 15 years 5 months teens can sign up for 24 hr online driver education courses that meet that requirement. You probably already see where this is going knowing that.
Why does that matter? Because We all get the Driver’s Handbook and study it from front to back so we can pass the Temps test. Then teens get their Temps and sign up for a 24 hour driver’s Ed Course because it’s required. In that course, when they are in it for 2 hours, they get what is called an “Enrollment certificate” so they can sign up at a local driving school for their 8 hours of behind the wheel driver training. Many do double duty going through the 24 hour course while also booking and doing the in-car training.
Guess what that 24 hour driver’s Ed course covers? All the material in the driver’s handbook. So a student can save themselves a lot of hours of studying that handbook by just taking the 24 hour course FIRST. Sign up at 15 years 5 months and do the 24 hour course. Then, just scan the handbook as studying aid prior to taking the exam at 16 years 6 months. This provides the student a structured and organized way to ingest the content over a month. Plus, the security of knowing they have gone through the book itself. Not everyone is good at just picking up that handbook and studying away.
So they can have the 24 hour driver education requirement met before they even take the Temps test. It takes about 2 – 3 weeks for the average person to get through the course depending on how much time they dedicate to it. Then, they go to the local driving school to sign up and they have completed the 24 hour course, which the driving school will love. They book the 8 hours of in-car training and complete the 50 hours of driving practice. Students need to then have their Temps for six months before making their appointment for the in-car test.
So given that, here is what I recommend.
- At 15 years 5 months sign up for the online 24hr Driver Education course and complete it over the next 3 weeks
- At 15 years 6 months take your Temps test.
- Practice for 50 hours 10 at night
- Signup and complete 8 hours in-car driver training
- Take the in-car driving test for your license.
At 15 years 6 months Teens can take the Learner’s Permit exam for your Temps.
Driving with Your Temps
Once you have your Temps, you must follow these restrictions
- Must have a licensed driver 21 years or older in the front seat next to you.
- Must complete 50 hours of practice with 10 hours at night
- Must have you Temps for six (6) months.